Continuing Professional Development Requirements

Continuing Professional Development (CPD) Requirements

As part of the new reforms, all licence renewal dates will change. The CPD Year for all licence and certificate holders starts 23 March each year and ends on 22 March the following year.

The first CPD Year will run from 23 March 2020 to 22 March 2021.

All individuals holding a Class 1 Licence or Class 2 Licence must complete the CPD specified under their licence.

There is no CPD required for Assistant Agents. Certificate of Registration holders as an Assistant Strata Managing Agent must complete at least three (3) units each CPD Year from a valid Certificate IV qualification. Assistant Agents can complete any of the units from the Certificate IV qualification.

Records you need to keep

Licence and certificate holders must retain their own records of any compulsory, elective or business skills topics completed.

SCA (NSW) Members CPD records will be maintained by the association, however individuals are advised to retain their own records and must provide these records as evidence if requested by NSW Fair Trading.

To request a replacement CPD Certificate, please click here.

Carry over of CPD

Three (3) CPD points under the previous arrangements will be counted as equivalent to one (1) hour of CPD (not points), and the carry over CPD will be credited only towards elective learning requirements. Please note, this carry over arrangement will only be available during the first CPD Year of the new licensing system.

What CPD topics do I need to complete?

The following diagram illustrates the relevant CPD categories and the corresponding CPD topics for each licence level.

To check your NSW Licence Class please click here.

For further information please refer to the links below: